Compliance under professional tax

Professional Tax is paid by a person who is earning an income from a salary, or is a practicing professional such as a lawyer, doctor, chartered accountant etc. The tax is collected under the state government and is not imposed on most states in India. The states that collect professional tax are Karnataka, West Bengal, Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Maharashtra, Tamil Nadu, Gujarat, Assam, Chhattisgarh, Kerala, Meghalaya, Odisha, Tripura, Madhya Pradesh, and Sikkim.

Under Article 276 in Constitution of India, 1949, the state governments have full monopoly on the rate of collection of tax as well as the method of collection of this tax. However, the maximum amount payable per year is INR 2,500 and, in line with tax payer's salary there are predetermined slabs. Business owners, working individuals, merchants and people carrying out various occupations comes under the preview of this tax. It is also payable by members of staff employed in private companies. It is deducted by the employer every month and sent to the Municipal Corporation. It is mandatory on the tax payer to pay professional tax.


We offer solutions for

• Professional tax computation
• Professional tax filing
• Employer enrollment
• Employee enrollment
• Returns filing

Book an appointment with Quatriz Business Solutions using SetMore